J.J. Watt vs. McAfee part of TST soccer tourney

r1167030 1296x729 16 9

Burnley co-owner and NFL legend J.J. Watt’s Burnley squad will face former NFL punter and ESPN personality Pat McAfee’s Concafa SC team in the first round of The Soccer Tournament, the 7-on-7, $1 million, winner-take-all event June 5-10.

The tournament will take place in Cary, North Carolina, and be broadcast by ESPN+.

– Stream on ESPN+: LaLiga, Bundesliga, more (U.S.)

The competition brackets were announced Tuesday. TST’s men’s bracket splits up its 48 teams into 12 groups of four while in the women’s brackets the eight teams are split into two groups of four.

The women’s tournament will compete for an equal $1 million, winner-take-all prize.

US Women, a team led by former United States teammates Ali Krieger and Heather O’Reilly, will face off against the Wrexham Red Dragons at 8 p.m. on June 8. Wrexham will bring a squad that includes seven of their first-team players, most notably Rosie Hughes, who was featured on “Welcome to Wrexham.”

Kealia Watt’s Burnley side will take on NC Courage, a team captained by Watt’s former Houston Dash teammate and USWNT member Jessica McDonald. Formiga, the most capped player in Brazilian men’s or women’s national team history, will lead new USL Super League side Tampa Bay Sun FC into action.

Former NFL player Chad Johnson will return to the Nati SC team for a second summer after helping represent FC Cincinnati’s alumni team in last year’s inaugural TST.

Bundesliga clubs Bayern Munich and Borussia Dortmund will face off at 5 p.m. on May 5.

The event uses a World Cup-style format and custom rules that require every game to end on a goal.

“We are looking forward to an extraordinary event in Cary,” TST CEO Jon Mugar said. “All of our games end in a game winning goal, which means fans will be treated to 118 game winning goals over six days, including a million dollar men’s goal and million dollar women’s goal scored on Monday night June 10.”

Complete pairings follow:

Group A: Agüero Team, Nani FC, La Mexicana Express, Say Word FC

Group B: Burnley FC, The Concafa SC, Nati SC, Reggae Rovers

Group C: AU Vodka Swans, FitBodega Vancouver, Socceroof, Tobacco Road FC

Group D: Inter, Banheristas FC, Gracie FC, La Bombanera

Group E: Bayern Munich, Borussia Dortmund, Dueling for Lincoln FC, The Town FC

Group F: Wrexham Red Dragons, Saturdays Football, FC Roha Eagles, Desimpedidos

Group G: Newtown Pride FC, Zala, DC Hyper, Supra United

Group H: Sneaky Fox FC, Team KwikGoal, Pasha FC, Tranquilo FC

Group I: Hashtag United, Manhattan Kickers, Raleigh Rebels, Summer of Soccer

Group J: Villarreal CF, Como 1907, NCFC, City Soccer Society

Group K: Georgetown, Hoosier Army, Trident FC, Freedom United

Group L: Sire Seven, Kingdom FC, Tenfifteen FC, Toronto Athletic FC

Women’s bracket:

Group A: Angel City FC, US Women, Wrexham Red Dragons, Streetball FC Canada

Group B: Burnley FC, NC Courage, SoccerHead FC, Tampa Bay Sun FC

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top